October Fish Pie


Fish Pie is ideal for any evening, especially a chilly one! This dish can be done in advance, although I would suggest earlier in the day if you have bought fresh fish.

Ingredients:
1/2 a nutmeg grated
1 Salmon Steak (ideal for one)
1 Haddock portion (ideal for one)
1/2 white onion
1 garlic clove
1/2 a cup of frozen prawns
1/2 a cup of peas
1 tbsp of capers
1/2 a hot rainbow chilli finely chopped
White wine vinegar (a few splashes)
Homemade white sauce
Potatoes for the topping 6/7 new potatoes should do it.

Buy good fish:
I bought my fish from my chosen fishmonger, The Covered Market in Oxford, somewhere I always go at the weekend.
I got the fish skinned as I was feeling lazy, and knew that I didn’t want the skin in my pie.

I made my white sauce first,to make sure I was happy with its consistency:

For your white sauce:
Add 1 heaped tbsp of plain flour with a large knob of butter,
Melt the butter in the microwave or hob (if you have a good non stick pan)
Pour in multiple splashes of milk and (whisk/ mix) until you get the texture that you want your sauce to be.

Then I moved on to the fish mix:

The Fish Mix: Chop the fish into bite size potions and coat them in the grated nutmeg.
Fry your onion in a non stick frying pan and allow it to soften and add your garlic in.
Lower the heat on your pan and add the chopped fish, peas, capers and frozen prawns.
Add a splash of white wine vinegar, and allow the fish to soak up the juices. Don’t cook the fish through, (this will happen in the oven later.)
In another frying pan fry up your chopped hot rainbow chilli.

Meanwhile… Boil hot water and add your potatoes, leave for about 20 mins until soft, drain and mash
with a drop of oil or knob of butter.
Pour in the white sauce to your fish mix and stir together, coating all the ingredients.
Then add your chilli and stir again, this way you won’t have a hot mouthful all at once!

Pour: Into an oven proof dish (for 2/3 people)

Add: The mashed potato to the top, as roughly or as neatly as you like.
Pre heat the oven to 180C and put the pie in for approximately 30 mins
Plate up when ready, with or without vegetables.

Pour: A glass of wine and enjoy!
( I had :New Zealands: Prestige Parcaels, Sauvignon Blanc 2010 Marlborough, from Majestic Wine Warehouse)

Leave a Reply

