bada boom pie – Pieminister


A few months ago I entered a bake off competition in Oxford, I went for the Pie category and made a Samosa Pie. My prize from the competition was the Pieminister book, addressed to me and signed! It’s a lovely Blue hardback, filled with lovely images and Pie recipes, here is a sneak peak and review of my first Pie from the book.

Pieminister. a pie for all seasons. Tristan Hogg and Jon Simon. BANTAM PRESS.
Pg 50. Spring.

Pie ingredients
4tbsp olive oil
2 Ramiro peppers, sliced into rings
2 red onions, cut into wedges
3 garlic cloves, finely sliced
6 small tomatoes, cut in halves or quarters
3 tbsp greek yoghurt
400g butter beans, or cannelini beans
small bunch of dill, chopped
small bunch of parsley,chopped
small bunch of mint, chopped
salt and pepper

Topping
1/2 ciabatta loaf, whizzed in a food processor
70g parmesan cheese, grated
3 tbsp olive oil

Add the ciabatta, parmesan and olive oil into your food processor, this combination will go on your pie mixture just before it hits the oven.

Pre heat oven to 180.
 
Heat the olive oil in a pan add the peppers and red onions and cook for 5 mins.
Add the garlic and cook for a further 5mins
At this point your onions and peppers should be lightly caramalized. Now tip the contents of your pan into a bowl, large enough to hold all the other ingredients, now stir in the other ingredients.

The book suggests that you spoon the mixture into ramekins, as the recipe is for 6 people, and that looks like the best idea for making multiple mini pies. As I had halved the recipe to serve just two people and made this into a one pot dish.

 

Now add your topping and put the pie into the oven for 25mins until the top is golden brown. I served this with raw courgette and raw broccoli with a drizzle of oil.

My thoughts on this pie: This pie gives you a good health kick, the beans and veg combo with the yoghurt instead of cream keep the dish light. next time I make it I would add a chilli into the process but that’s because I love a kick in my dishes. I will continue to work my way through the pie book, which has been put into seasonal chapters. I look forward to the next one!

Leave a Reply

